About the Board

The Traverse City Light & Power Board meets on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 5:15 p.m., with the 4th Tuesday of each month reserved for a possible session. Full Meeting Schedule

The Board consists of seven members nominated and appointed by the City Commission. Unexpired term vacancies shall be filled by the Mayor with the approval of the City Commission. Not less than one and no more than two of these members shall be selected by the City Commission and shall be ex-officio members with full voting authority. Members must be resident elector of the City, except that one member may be a non-resident if he/she resides within current actual service area of the department. Non-Commission Board members cannot hold any other City office, nor can they be an employee of the City.

Non-Commission Board members shall be appointed to serve terms of five years from the first Monday of April. The Commission Board members shall be appointed for a two-year term bi-annually at the City Commission organizational meeting.

The City Manager or the City Manager's designee shall be an ex-officio member without voting authority and shall not be counted for purposes of establishing a quorum.

The Board "shall have exclusive jurisdiction, control and management of the Light and Power Department and all its operations and facilities, except as herein provided. Unless specifically allocated to the City Commission or to a City official, the Board shall have all the powers and duties possessed by the City to construct, acquire, expand and operate the Light & Power system."

Creation of the TCL&P Board is required by City Charter.

[Last Updated: 12/9/2020 11:57:39 AM]